Last week of work

on

I have one “official” week left of my summer job.

There’s extra hours left in my job grant, so I’ll be able to earn a few more dollars writing a bang up final report. (Otherwise, I would’ve had to do it in 4 hours, which would have been mostly cutting and pasting from last year’s report. I have over 50 hours left in my grant, so I’m sure I can use a few of those to do a good job wrapping up everything.)

Tomorrow I have (yet) another job interview after work. It’s only for a four month term an hour away from home, but at this point, I will take any job, no matter how short the contract. It would mean food for my tummy and gas for my car. I’m quite fond of both of these things.

In case things don’t work out, I’ve started making plans for fall and winter. Substituting for the local school board barely provides enough money to keep me fed and warm, so I’m trying to plot out a freelance writing career. I might qualify for Employment Insurance, but I’m not holding my breath.

Going to university certainly hasn’t provided a wealth of opportunities. I get lots of interviews these days, but there’s always someone better or more experienced who actually GETS the job. The last job I lost because I have no experience travelling. I don’t even have a passport, mostly because I haven’t had any money to travel, so getting a passport would be a waste until I’m ready to use it.

I’ll let you know how this interview goes.

On the home front. I picked two bowls of green beans from my small garden plot. Some were almost the size of zucchinis (okay, I exaggerate, but they were really big). And it has only been TWO days since I picked the plot clean. Yikes. At this point, I’d also like to thank my neighbours’ cat for using my garden as a litter box.

Thanks to a headache and nasty bout of irritable bowel syndrome, I missed out on raspberry picking this year. I’m not sure if I can blame the wheat I ate this weekend. Friday I had a Bacon McGriddle from McDonalds (I’m probably lucky to still be alive at this point), I made quesadillas Friday, and got mall Chinese food on Saturday. This is my rebellion for having lost 5 pounds, then gaining them back again (WTF, gluten free diet. WTF?)

Lesson learned. The wheat-reduction diet continues.

Except for supper tonight. I ate the last of the Chinese food.

Some people have hangovers from a weekend’s worth of alcohol; I have food hangovers.

Leave a Reply

