Long weekend laziness

on

It’s the long weekend here in Nova Scotia.

I’m fortunate enough to be working for an organization that recognizes Natal Day Weekend as a statutory holiday, although I know a lot of people aren’t so fortunate. When I worked at the radio station in Kentville, every other office of the organization got a stat holiday EXCEPT US. It was rather cruel to be working when everyone else had the day off with pay. As you can tell, I’m still bitter about it years later.

However, I haven’t been doing much with my weekend. There have been a few naps and lots of reading.

Currently, I’m zipping through The Virgin Cure by local writer Ami McKay. I hope to finish it today. Historical fiction is one of my favourite genres, bonus points if it features history from a woman’s point of view.

And although I’ve been complaining that eating a gluten-free diet hasn’t changed my body at all, I have lost about five pounds in the last two weeks. I’m not sure if it’s because I’m eating no wheat, or because I’m eating less processed food,

Interestingly enough, though, some of the stuff I have been eating has been higher in fat. Example: coconut. I have some gluten-free coconut cookies which are 180 calories each. I have also been using a fair amount of coconut, which is high in saturated fat.

Either way, the experiment continues.

For supper, I’m going to be eating beans from my own garden. (And when I say “garden” I mean the tiny little plot of beans beside my house.) I would love to have a bigger garden, but have no tiller. And so, I nurture some beans from the world’s tiniest garden (although Guinness has yet to confirm the record).

Don't let the tomato sign throw you off: these are beans.
Don’t let the tomato sign throw you off: these are beans.

These are the results of my harvest. Eat your heart out.

Beans like these make it easy to eat all of my vegetables.
Beans like these make it easy to eat all of my vegetables.

I hope you’ve been having a great weekend as well.

Leave a Reply

