Coconut chocolate chip shortbread

on

I’ve always had a soft spot for buttery sweets containing chocolate. I must be weird or something.

I’ve tried some of the gluten-free products out there. Some of them are okay. Some of them aren’t worth feeding the birds. I now understand why people just wrap their sandwiches in lettuce.

Last night, I put my coconut flour to good use: I concocted chocolate chip shortbread.

And it wasn’t too bad.

I melted butter and added some white sugar until it made a gritty paste. I added some vanilla flavouring before putting in enough coconut flour to make a dry crumble. This was followed by chocolate chips. Lots of them. And some shredded coconut for good measure.

(FYI :I don’t measure things when correct proportions can be guessed. This is what makes cooking and baking fun. Unless you’re using baking soda. The rest is just a pinch of this,  pinch of that, a bunch of chocolate chips… you get the idea.)

I flattened the mixture into a pan, put it into the oven at a moderate temperature (350) until it got golden brown. Once it cooled, I broke it into pieces.

Gluten free and delish. Is it healthy? Heck no. There’s butter and there’s sugar and there’s chocolate.

But sometimes you need a treat—especially a wheat-free treat!

Source: Julie

Leave a Reply

