Songs I’m embarrassed I like

on

I have a pretty varied taste in music. Unlike my taste in food, in which I could eat buttered pasta and be perfectly satisfied for the rest of my life, only a marginal improvement from the mayonnaise sandwiches I enjoyed in elementary school. (By high school, I had moved on to Crispers and Ring-o-los.)

As a result of my music tastes, there are a number of songs I’m a little embarrassed to like. In other words, I turn down the volume when I’m in the car, near other people, and the windows are down.

For the most part, I’m ashamed of these songs because of my political leanings–namely that I am a proud feminist and humanist who does not want to promote objectifying women or glorifying thug life.

And so, in no particular order of embarrassment, here is my list. I have not watched the videos of these hits (I’m sure it would just make things worse) but if you’d like to familiarize yourself with these tunes, you can click on some of the song titles and whisk off to YouTube.

  1. Whistle” by Flo Rida. This is a catchy song full of great beats and lots of whistling. Overall, I’m a fan of Flo Rida. But let’s make it clear: you’d die if you hear a five-year-old singing this song with gusto.
  2. “Over” by Drake. I’m not usually offended by swearing per se. However, as much as I like parts of the song, I’m embarrassed by the sheer amount of swearing in the lyrics. Maybe it has something to do with the fact I still picture “Drake” on Degrassi.
  3. Baby One More Time” by Britney Spears. I think it’s safe to say that any song by Britney Spears on my playlist would cause great shame to my family. I have to say, though, that I still love the beat of this song, especially in my car.
  4. “Medicated” by Wiz Khalifa. I really like the laid back beat of this song. Unfortunately, it’s laid back because it’s all about marijuana. In case the message of this song wasn’t clear, you only have to watch the video to verify it’s about illegal activities. Not exactly the kind of songs I like to promote as a professional who works with kids, yanno?
  5. “My Band” by Eminem. This song was introduced to me by a student who swore it was his favourite song. It’s pretty funny. And I will occasionally recognized that Eminem is a pretty good artist, as I still keep “Lose Yourself” on my playlist.
  6. “Lose Yourself” by Eminem. I seriously love the piano in this.
  7. I Hate This Part Right Here” by The Pussycat Dolls. Even though the group has broken up, I love this song and sing it in my car all. the. time.
  8. Anything by Nickleback.
  9. “Miami” by Will Smith. This oldie was around while I was in high school (so back when woolly mammoths still roamed the earth). It has a great beat and spirited lyrics. But it’s hard not to be a little miffed there is such a focus on sexy women. Thankfully, this tame song does not compare to the rap and hip hop of 2013, where anything goes.
  10. “The Way I Are” by Timbaland. As someone who is fond of grammar, the title of this song drives me batty and amuses me all at the same time. Such mixed emotions!
  11. “Incomplete” by Backstreet Boys. I feel a little dirty even admitting I have a boy band song on my playlist.

There are lots more that I might turn down if you’re driving in my car with me. We all have songs we’re not proud to love. What are yours?

Leave a Reply

