In which I give myself the name Hears Water Run

The long weekend must be over, because here I am, glued to the internet and clicking my online substitute system over and over.

And over and over.

In all, it was a pretty good long weekend. I didn’t get out of my jammies before 2 on most days and read a lot with a sleepy kitty on my lap.

I’m feverishly working to get a job for the summer (or a full-time one; I’m not picky) and had two interviews last week. Thankfully, I have another one this Thursday because

a) the first interview, for a one month term job, didn’t pan out and

b) the second one is just for subbing at a daycare, which would involved watching tiny tykes for 7:30 to 5:00 for minimum wage (and only if I pay to get my CPR certification)

Oh, the opportunities a BA can get you!

I haven’t been blogging much because I’ve been tweaking my teacher’s webpage in time for the June hiring rounds. It would be nice to get a term for the fall, and I’ve been working hard to make it so. I’m even reading teacher’s textbooks like crazy, updating my LinkedIn profile, and being the best little job hunter I can be.

Thankfully, subbing has picked up a little in the last few weeks; I expect it will be brisk until mid June or so, when everything wraps up for the year.

And finally, over the weekend, I got to go to a family get together where there was lots of food and (did I mention?) lots of food.

Once, while trudging back and forth between the food area and the sitting area, I heard water running.

Perplexed (after all, it was a dry evening) I looked for the source of the water, and would’ve looked for awhile if someone wouldn’t have spoken up.

I forget what they said. Mostly because I was

a) surprised a person was making the water sound beside the house

b) slightly embarrassed to be caught looking for the source of the water sound

You can probably guess what was happening. I’m surprised that, as a good country girl, I didn’t think of that.

Leave a Reply

