Rome wasn’t built in a day. Neither was my room.

So, Summer, I guess it’s time for you and I to part ways for another year.

There’s a change in the air temperature. I like that.

There’s a change in the number of daylight hours. Don’t like that.

No matter what, fall is still my favourite time of year. I’m enough of a geek that I’ve always loved the start of a school year: the new clothes (at least from Frenchy’s), the new school supplies, and new semesters and subjects.

I also love the decline of humidity and the increase of nights in which you get to use actual blankets again. Woohoo!

 

As you can also tell, I’ve stopped blogging daily and trying to live up to my name. I was getting tapped.

Plus, I’ve been painting. And staining. And cleaning. And moving heavy things. And books. Lots of books.

Yes, the transformation of my downstairs rooms is progressing nicely. I’d show you some pics, but I’d rather wait and surprise you when it’s complete.

Let’s just say, I have a newfound respect for movers. It took some cussing to move the couch, only to have it stick in a small spot between the wall and the stairs.

And then it decided it didn’t like its location because the walls were too narrow and moving made the couch three times bigger. Couches are like that.

Another hitch in the project: Jack the Cat spilled the remainder of my paint before I could finish the walls.

The can was sitting on a plastic bag, which he decided would be really useful in covering his business in the litter box. When he dragged it into the box, the paint toppled like Troy. Jack would like to report he covered his poop nicely, and I would like to report that I rescued some of the paint. It may contain fur and litter rocks but that’s okay. I wanted to put some texture on the wall anyhow.

 

Finally, when not refinishing (or sleeping off a refinishing-related headache), I finished Virgil’s Aeneid. It’s a ginormous epic poem about the founding of Rome in the aftermath of Troy’s downfall.

Sometimes I like to read things that are hard on my brain. I’m a speed-reader, so I like to read things that force me to slow down and think. (Sorry Danielle Steel.)

I also like to think my Liberal Arts education was good for something other than student debt.

Turns out, classical epic poetry is a lot like a Jerry Bruckheimer film, only with more blood.

And that, folks, has been my first week of September in a nutshell.

Stay tuned next week when I might finally get my first day of subbing!

Leave a Reply

