This is what you get when I don’t get my nightly bath

I’m tired. I’d like to thank Nova Scotia Power for the crappy night’s sleep.

I came home late Sunday night, looking forward to a clean bath! the smell of Dove! a fresh face!

But driving into the community, it began to dawn on me that it was dark.

Really dark.

As if there was no power dark.

I hoped this was an isolated outage, but alas, but when I pulled into the dark driveway, it became clear (only because my headlights were on) that NS Power had failed us yet again.

The reason given on the “outage line” was that overhead equipment went kaput. I figured this was likely the result of:

  • a crow
  • salty fog
  • a hurricane
  • Darth Vader

That narrowed it down.  I follow the weather religiously (in fact, more so than I do anything faith-based) so I was pretty certain there was no hurricane overhead. It rained pretty hard in Kingston yesterday, but I was still pretty certain it was regular rain not monsoon rain.

I’m also pretty sure the Death Star was destroyed, so that ruled out acts of Star Wars.

That left crow or salty fog.

The news then informed me it was “an insulator” which failed. That helped me out none. I’m still leaning towards salty fog.

Coming home hot and sweaty to a dark humid house wasn’t my idea of a fun time. I tried to tell myself if people in India could live without air conditioning for a time, so could I.

I was wrong.

I could hardly breathe; it was like breathing through a shirt drenched in Satan’s sweat.

I figured it was the end.

By the time the power came on hours later, I had already written my last will and testament and had my cat give me the last rites even though I was raised a Baptist (though I do like to play cards on Sunday).

Needless to say, it was hard for the air conditioner and wind farm in the living room to improve the humid air before morning. And sleeping without my evening bath was borderline torture.

I don’t know how the pioneers did it. Guess that’s why they made moonshine. And hung a lot of people.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Hannah says:

    Ugh. We don’t have air conditioning at all and I’m really thinking that’ll need to change by next summer. It. Is. So. Bloody. Humid.

    1. Julie says:

      It is. The one little air conditioner is only making it tolerable, mostly because it has to cool down a ginormous living room made big enough to hold a quilt-in-progress. Thankfully the a/c didn’t cause the power bill to go any higher… surprisingly…

  2. Natasha says:

    We dont have AC either. I love humidity though but maybe because I am still new to it or maybe I am weird. I love this Post, its really made me giggle.

Leave a Reply

