$#&*! — Cussing in blogland

on

I like me a good cuss word. I may even, on occasion, use some profanity myself, especially when:

  • I hurt myself
  • the computer freezes
  • I spill something all over the floor
  • I want to feel cool

However, if you’ll notice, I almost never (no wait: never) use profanity on my blog. There are several reasons for this:

  • I work with kids, who have parents who would not be down with their authority figure cussing like a sailor
  • I’m unemployed and want to get professional work at some point
  • the reality is I’m not cool
  • if my momma would read this, she’d wash my mouth out with soap

And so, you’ll never find actual cussing on this blog. Oh, here and there I might have some fun with @#$@#$ and insinuate some profanity. But in this day and age, that is pretty tame.

However, I have nothing against other bloggers using profanity. In fact, I might just be a wee bit jealous that I can’t.

Yes, people can be funny without cussing, but a random f-bomb can just take things to the next level. (Please, kids, stop reading.)

So when I’m reading an adult-oriented blog, I’m okay with seeing a little profanity. Sometimes, I’m even okay with a lot, as long as it’s clever. (Then again, I used to think the Trailer Park Boys was a riot.)

The reality is, though, I have to keep my blog fairly clean so that someday, when I’m in a job interview, I don’t get the question: We’ve come across your blog and feel it does not present a professional image of yourself and your career. Would you like to explain that?

Dagnammit.* I knew I should’ve been anonymous.

* Since I won’t commit to using real profanity, you’re apt to get a lot of things like dagnammit, gadzooks and other ancient cussing in order for me to make my point. If I were in Victorian England right now, I’d be in big trouble.

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Christine. says:

    I agree with you. I,too, work with children, my own children read my blog and I just don’t like to cuss on some site where the written word is permanent, which I think sites like WP, FB, Twitter etc are. Once it’s written down, it can’t be edited. I swear at home for the same reasons as you and I even curse when someone ‘cuts me up’ in the car but to write it down somehow I find difficult. That’s not to say I mind if other people do it, I just can’t! Your blog is cool. 🙂

    1. Julie says:

      Thanks Christine! Yeah, once it’s in writing, it’s forever; I’m always trying to censor myself online, but I just cannot not be online. I’m too addicted now! 🙂

      1. Christine. says:

        Me too. I’m glad I’m not the only one to not like swearing online. Not that I swear that much anyway, I have to add. There’s need to continually do it but sometimes f***is the only word to use.I enjoyed reading your blog. 🙂

  2. Christine. says:

    Hi Julie, I have nominated you for a ‘Very inspiring Blogger Award. Don’t feel that you have to accept. I just thought your blog was too good not to nominate. Have a good day/night. From Chris http://baarmychris.wordpress.com/

    1. Julie says:

      Looks like fun! I love these! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

