I think I almost went to China. Then again, maybe not.

on

As someone with a teacher’s degree, I find it quite difficult to get full-time work, mostly because Nova Scotia’s population is declining (Alberta, anyone?) and education funding is declining with it.

This isn’t just a phenomenon in teaching. Most professions in Nova Scotia aren’t exactly booming these days.

When I heard about an opportunity teaching in China, I was curious. Mostly because I’d love to have a real full-time job with benefits and feel like an adult once more.

Some people my age enjoy adventures of this calibre. I prefer the known.

It’s more of a case of: will this be tolerable enough to endure for a year or two?

And so, when my planned interview fell through, I actually felt a sense of relief. I wouldn’t have to get a passport, health insurance, suitcases, inoculations, and all the other things I would need to live on the other side of the world. I get nervous packing for a shopping trip to Halifax and it’s only an hour and a half away.

In truth, I’m a homebody. I love my bed. I get homesick when my cat isn’t at the bottom of my bed, snuggled up next to my leg.

It’s a dream of mine to do some travelling, but only short term travelling. Like for a week. Maybe two.

Being a young person who is looking to start a job (any job) in order to pay off the bills for my schooling in a place like Nova Scotia is difficult. And yet I’m sure it would be just as difficult to land in a lonely spot where I know no one.

And so, for now, it looks like I’ll be subbing for another year. Don’t get me wrong: it’s a pretty good gig. In what other profession can you not have a job, but pick up temporary work that’s well paid?

I think I’d rather wait it out another year, then pack my bags. Ask me again next summer and maybe you’ll have a different answer.

Then again, maybe not.

Leave a Reply

