Current loves

Dogs in the City

Upon hearing there was yet another reality TV show coming on my two measly country channels, I rolled my eyes. However, once I started watching Justin Silver train dogs (and more importantly, their owners), I was hooked. This is an awesome show. You simply must watch it if you love a) dogs b) good-looking trainers c) observing how people own dogs in a large city.

I’ll be honest: I may get a little teary-eyed every time I watch this show.

Hot Dogs

I know, I know, sodium nitrate will kill me. But it’s summer, and that means hot dogs taste so good. My barbecue is broken (sigh) but I have the world’s tiniest little grill, which cooks four hot dogs comfortably.

There’s something about sun, grilling, and hot dogs that makes you forget about cancer and excess sodium. Add some fried onions and I’m positively salivating.

The Blood of Others

No, I haven’t become a vampire. It’s a novel by Simone de Beauvoir. If you’ve ever heard of The Second Sex or studied feminist theory, you’ve probably come across her. I’m in love with this novel, the first I’ve read of hers (I’ve only read bits of The Second Sex).

Plus, The Blood of Others is written in a stream of consciousness style reminiscent of Virginia Woolf. And that makes me happy. Books I don’t understand at first glance make me happy.

Who needs light reading in the summer?

Amanda Marshall

I haven’t bought many new CDs in the last few years, but every now and then, I buy a second hand one. Which usually means it’s old. I found Amanda Marshall’s self-titled album for a buck. My old one is scratched, and this one had potential.

Needless to say, I’ve now been driving along the road singing Let it Rain at the top of my lungs. I’m sure the police will soon stop me for talking on my cellphone.

Roasted Garlic Hummus and Multi-grain Tortilla Chips

Sometimes it’s hard for a girl to think of something for lunch. I’ve been dipping multi-grain Tostitos in Roasted Garlic Hummus and it has been tasting fan-freakin-tastic. My breath may be not tasting great, but who cares when I’m singing in my car? Maybe it will keep the police from giving me a ticket.

The Price of Gas

It is dropping like the availability of jobs. Finally we have an economic break: gas that doesn’t cost $1.50 per litre. Win. Especially in time for the summer driving season. I might actually get to the beach with my $1.20 per litre gas! Opa!

Leave a Reply

