Attack of the June bugs and the skunk visitation

For the past two days, I have been weeding like a mad woman. No weeds have been safe from my quick hands.

Not horse tails. Not buttercups. Nothing.

The ground in my vegetable patch is ready for seeds. Weeds gone? Check. Cow manure? Check. Now I just have to poke the little seeds in the ground. Easy peasy.

I’ve also cleaned out the various little flower patches, full of perennials that come back year after year.

Rainy days are always the best for shooting flowers!
I managed to get a shot of the flowering almond before its beauty faded.

I do love gardening even if it doesn’t always love me. Especially if it’s hot out. I worked up a pretty good sweat today—and mud. Had to keep swatting away black flies with muddy hands. I do wear some kind of citronella-based fly repellent, but it doesn’t always work 100%. Then neither does DEET and citronella smells much better.

 

So I’ve been leaving you hanging about the June bugs, eh? Instead I’m boring you with gardening gibbergabber.

One night I left the outdoor light on so I wouldn’t fall when I came home with groceries. Big mistake. Not the groceries. The light.

The door was covered in June bugs. It wasn’t even June. WTF. They’re so greasy looking.

Every time I went in and out the door, the bugs decided to attack me. It’s a myth that bats stick in your hair. It’s a myth because only June bugs that do this goshforsaken thing.

I admit it. I squealed. Like a baby. Dashing in and out with groceries.

The bugs, though, got their comeuppance when they came inside though. They gravitated to the light on the ceiling fan.

Then–bang!

They hit the blades of the ceiling fan and flung around the kitchen like greasy brown bullets.

I was still finding June bugs the next day. In fact, I did a load of wash, opened up the machine, and found a dead (obviously) June bug in with my lights.

I’m really glad the June bugs are gone now that it’s June.

 

That brings us to the skunks.

Skunks are evil. Oh, they look really cute, but they’re really evil incarnate. Ever smell that odour? Evil. Ever try to bathe a dog that’s been sprayed by a skunk? Evil stuff. Dogs smell for months afterwards every time it rains. Every single time.

Bone meal is our fertilizer of choice for all the trees and shrubs. Some went into the ground yesterday around the maple saplings.

This morning, when I woke up, I saw numerous holes around the maples.

Raccoons! I thought. Frigging raccoons.

I Google everything. I mean, who uses encyclopedias these days? I might as well start communicating with Morse code. An old set even went out with spring clean up.

I keyed in “raccoons” and “bone meal” and hit ENTER.

My search was disappointing because it said that raccoons do not like bone meal. At all. In fact, it is a good deterrent. This information did not seem that helpful at first.

I typed “skunks” and “bone meal”.

Mystery solved. Apparently skunks LOVE bone meal like I love pasta. And so, when you add it to your garden (or trees), they will dig up the ground just to eat it.

Frigging skunks.

I also don’t like the idea of a bunch of smelly, evil skunks roving around my yard at night. Thankfully I don’t have a dog. Because there’s nothing worse than the smell of wet dog mixed with skunk.

Needless to say, the next time I’m town, I’ll have to get some moth balls. They help deter skunks.

Of course, this probably means the raccoons will be digging in the lawn to eat the moth balls.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Laura Best says:

    Frigging skunks is right! We actuallyhaven’t been bothered here in some time come to think of it. I guess that’s a good thing. Speaking of June bugs, they really gross me out. I ‘d much rather a woodtick or black fly any day.

    1. Julie says:

      I guess anything biological like fish or bone meal really get the skunks all fired up. It’s bad enough when they dig for grubs,

Leave a Reply

