Flax flour pancakes and other notes from the weekend

It’s a beautiful Sunday. And I’m inside.

Okay, so it’s not pay week, which means no cruising around, no flea marketing, no beaching (so in other words, don’t expect a blog post next weekend!).  And to top it off, it’s about 35 degrees Celsius according to my outdoor thermometer. Now, to be fair, this particular thermometer always runs a bit hot. Like me. I think that’s why I like it. It’s about as reliable as my scales.

 

According to my scales, I’ve lost about 8 pounds since I began keeping track (so maybe since Aprilish?)

Naturally, I think this is awesome. I won’t have to hold my head in shame when I go to the doctor. Or when I see that a high BMI will kill you.

Of course, my weight has been bouncing back and forth the last week or two within about a 6 pound range. I’m not sure if it’s bloating, or the old scale. All I know is that this happened while eating Nutella. Miracle? Possibly.

I haven’t really been doing much else, except trying to avoid liquid calories—even milk. I substitute a glass of no calorie water instead. I also try to limit myself to a serving of juice a day. (Sorry, people, but it’s not just pop that puts weight on you. So having all of that chocolate milk in schools isn’t exactly going to make the kiddos slimmer.)

 

Last night, I tried coconut oil for the first time ever. I haven’t decided if it’s healthier or not. It’s high in saturated fat, but some health bloggers and people suggest it’s more natural than margarine.

I fried my flax flour pancakes in it last night. They were quite tasty and you could taste a hint of coconut along with the delicious flax from Valley Flax Flour. I had two pancakes and they were super-filling. I really like filling food. Eating sugary cereal in the morning means I’m starving at about 9:30, so I have to eat high fibre foods. Like this:

 

Flax Flour Pancakes

  • 1/2 cup flour (I used whole wheat)
  • 1/4 cup flax flour or seed
  • 2 teaspoons of baking powder
  • 1 tablespoon oil or butter
  • 1/2 cup milk or substitute
  • 1 egg

Mix the dry ingredients before making a well for your wet ingredients. Once it’s all whisked together, fry and enjoy!

Note this only makes enough for one or two hungry people, so I highly recommend doubling the batch!

I hope you have been having a great weekend! I know Jack has been enjoying himself: he’s become addicted to the internet (though I think he’s really a fan of the mouse).

I’m on the Interweb.
One Comment Add yours

  1. harpmando says:

    Great pic, although perhaps it is the chicken flavoured cat treats he hankers for, I can see it in his eyes…

    It is hot here too. I don’t like it one bit, the heat makes people behave badly. Please come quick autumn, please, I wish an end to the olympic hype and Queens jumblelee

    take care,
    kevin

    ps well done on the weight thing, strange how it just comes and goes. I have a wondering 4lbs I just cant seem to loose.

Leave a Reply

