Dollar store bling for summer

I’m not sure if bling is a cool word any more. Maybe I should call it swag.

Are toe rings still cool? I’m not sure. Either way, since I live in flip-flops all summer long, this toe ring will see some serious action.

Tessiree. It’s time for flip-flops on every single day it’s not raining. I can’t hack rain on my toes. Just feels weird and slippery. (That’s what she said.)

And of course, now that I have new contacts, I’m able to wear sunglasses again.

Big arse sunglasses? CHECK.

I’m paranoid about sunglasses these days, ever since I heard that cheap sunglasses can actually hurt your eyes more than going without shades because they make your eyes dilate, letting in more harmful rays. Now I keep wondering if my sunglasses are any good. Probably not: they’re made in China and sell for $4. Sunglasses for $4 simply can’t be safe. But they are cute, with butterflies and whatnot.

As you can see, I’m ready for summer to come. I’ve got my $1 toe ring with real fake diamonds (oh la la!) and my $4 Made-in-China sunglasses. You simply HAVE to love dollar stores. And Frenchy’s. That’s usually where I get my bathing suits.

Bargain hunting on the long weekend is a great way to spend one’s time. I’m also happy to report I found a carbon monoxide detector for 50% off. I’m soooooo going to be warned if the furnace kicks off deadly fumes.

In other words, you could say I’m ready for winter now too.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. libbyboss says:

    Yipes! I didn’t know that cheap sunglasses could be harmful. I guess I never really thought about it, but it makes sense. Now I must hunt for the cheapest polarized sunglasses I can find… but will they be ‘cool’. Oh dear!
    (I just stumbled on your blog…. it was a good stumble!)

    1. Julie says:

      Thanks libbyboss for visiting! 🙂

Leave a Reply

