This week, the Reader’s Digest version

It’s a beautiful Saturday evening. The sun is streaming in through the living room window, warm and bright. I should go for a walk, but I’m way too full of roast beefy goodness. And apple crisp. Can’t forget the apple crisp.

I’m hoping that if I kill some time blogging, my supper will settle. I really want to walk, mostly because the weight I lost has sneaked back on (thank you, Cadbury Creme Eggs) even though I haven’t updated my little tracker icon from My Fitness Pal. (Can you say denial?) Part of the problem is that I haven’t been tracking my calories at all. And I’ve been drinking milk again. Bad girl.

Anyhoo. This is what else is up.

 

Spring. It came out of nowhere, it seems. The grass became green OVERNIGHT and the buds are just about to burst. Half an hour away, the leaves are out; I’m hoping it will soon happen here.

 

SafeTALK. I was super-excited to attend a three hour session on suicide awareness. It introduced the basics of talking to someone who might be considering suicide. The course covered some warning signs—invitations, as it were—expressed by someone who is considering death. Then it suggests asking outright “I’ve noticed this, this, and this. Are you considering suicide?” Listen to the person if they’re willing to talk, refer them to someone with more experience, and probably save a life.

It all seems pretty basic. Yet it’s all about having the guts to ask someone if they’re considering killing themselves. And then being willing to help out because few people actually want to die. They really want help. It’s important to be the person who helps even by offering to take them to someone who can help.

After attending SafeTALK, I’m interested in the ASIST course, or Applied Suicide Intervention Skills Training. It’s like first aid for people who are considering suicide. If you’re interested in this course, or SafeTALK, visit livingworks.net.

What did I learn from my session?

  • Thoughts of suicide are common.
  • Sometimes just having someone listen is enough to make a person stop considering suicide.
  • You don’t have to be a hero. You just have to be willing to NOT stick your head in the sand.
  • It takes balls (or ovaries) to actually ask “Are you considering suicide?” even to a person in a workshop.
  • Asking this question will not cause a person to commit suicide.
  • The warning signs are really simple. Follow your guts. If people are dropping hints like “Things will never get better” or “Everyone would be better if I was dead” etc., then take it seriously. Seriously.
  • FYI, this really is a huge issue in our community. It’s hidden, but it shouldn’t be. Because it’s part of the human condition.

 

On that note, after watching Titanic again (see last week’s post), “My Heart Will Go On” has been playing in my head over and over again. I think I need to get to a piano, sing it out, and get it out of my system. Even listening to Sarah McLachlan hasn’t helped.

 

One of my local grocery stores has gotten into international foods, and lo and behold, they have orange blossom water, which can only mean one thing!

Baklava.

This is the best pastry. Ever. And I’ve eaten lots of pastries. But the phyllo pastry, butter, nuts, honey, and orange blossom is heavenly. I’m sure I’ll post about it when I finally start putting it together. I’ve only ever made it once, but oh baby! Stay tuned!

Well, it’s time to go for my walk. My heart will thank me. (At least more than eating baklava!)

Leave a Reply

