No sirree, spring is not here yet

Within two weeks, it will be spring. Maybe.

Sure is pretty. Pretty awful.

I wish I had remembered my camera yesterday when I went out and aboot. The LaHave River looked spectacular with heavy-hanging boughs framing the navy of the water. Even though I was not a fan of cleaning my car off (or all the gas required to thaw out Scarlett the Car), it is hard to resist the beauty of snow. Scatlett protested when I tried to accelerate, by spinning and sliding a bit, but the snow was quite lovely.

However, it can melt any day now. (The raccoon who tipped over a half-dead spider plant on the doorstep last night agrees as well. I’m sure scavenging for half-dead plants on doorsteps is not his or her idea of a good time.)

Of course, once it melts, I’ll have to give up my Michelin-man-like clothing in favour of tank tops and shorts and I’m pretty sure I haven’t lost much weight yet. I had hoped (foolishly, back when it was fall) that I’d be ready for swimsuit weather this summer.

Maybe it can stay cold a little longer?

I have about 80 pounds to go until I reach my healthy weight, which may take a year and a half according to My Fitness Pal. That’s at about 1 pound a week, which should keep my metabolism from going into starvation mode (which will only make me gain more weight in the end, as a sluggish metabolism is likely my biggest problem thanks to a weight gaining medication).

I didn’t realize how difficult it was to keep to 1,600 calories a day. Even skim milk adds up quickly, never mind desserts and McDonalds!

I took Nutrition 101 in university, so I am well versed in eating well and reading nutrition labels. My Fitness Pro is an easy way to track my eats without doing scads of math. It has a searchable database containing Canadian foods and a way to add calories if they’re not there. Homemade foods are a bit more problematic, but even tracking most of my diet is a help. Generating charts of my nutrient intake is very useful in analyzing how I eat and how I can do better.

If you want to watch what you eat, give it a try. I’ll keep you posted on how well it works for me.

This is my before picture for posterity.

Summerville Beach, 2009. Will there be an after picture? We’ll see!

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

