What’s up buttercup? (Work and stroganoff)

You can tell when I get lots of teaching days. Because my one-post-a-day blogging drops off to one-a-week. So this is what has been up, y’all.

 

Work

Thank goodness. I was beginning to think there would never be another day of subbing. I have had lots of days AND I’m booked for lots more. I’m not going on any cruises any time soon, but I think I’m going to be able to slap some cash on my bills! Hurray!

 

Resting Up

On my days off, I like to be lazy. Like really lazy. Like stay in my jammies until 2 kinda lazy. I figure I’d better enjoy it now before I get married and buried and have kids.

Jack agrees.

Jack likes to thwart my bed-making attempts.

 

Volunteering

In honour of Sexual and Reproductive Health Day (which was yesterday), the Sexual Health Centre set up a display at Shopper’s Drug Mart in Bridgewater. We were very lucky to be allowed this luxury because a lot of businesses shy away from our work likely because a) we give away free condoms and lube and b) they think we do/or love abortions. Sexual health is touchy business with some people. I’m a huge believer that’s it’s better to educate so we can cut down on disease across the lifespan, as well as unwanted pregnancies. Furthermore, it’s not 1862.

No doubt Saturday was the first time some people saw packages of dental dams and female condoms!

We had awesome free stuff including condoms, lube, and chocolate hearts. Oh yes and pencils!

 

Food Adventures

And finally, one of my favourite ups, beef stroganoff. Even writing this makes me excited for supper tonight because there’s leftovers. It’s only 2:22 PM and I’m trying my best to hold out to at least 4:30 or 5:00. And there’s still garlic bread left… yum…

I’ve been meaning to try this dish, and finally, for the first time in 31 years, I et beef stroganoff. It’s kind of like Sidekicks or Hamburger Steak Helper for adults, without all the MSG and $#!^.

Here’s my version.

 

Beef Stroganoff

Ingredients

  • steak
  • beef broth
  • sour cream
  • white or sweet onions
  • mushrooms
  • green onions
  • butter
  • egg noodles
  • garlic
  • pepper

Cut steak or beef into strips, then saute in frying pan with some oil and butter. Be careful, though, because butter burns quickly.

Once beef is mostly cooked, add 2 cups of beef broth, along with at least 2 cloves of garlic.

Cook egg noodles and drain.

Add onions and mushrooms, cut into desired size. I had a measuring cup filled with my vegetables, which is about 4 cups. Simmer in pan until tender.

Mix 1/2 cup of beef broth with 3 tablespoons of flour. Put into a container and shake until it’s pasty and thick. Add to beef mixture. It should thicken. If not, mix up and add more flour, just like making gravy.

Add egg noodles to pan, then add pepper, 1 cup sour cream, and a small amount of butter.

Taste your mixture and add more pepper or beef broth until you reach your desired taste.

Serve immediately!

Helpful Hint

If you make a roast, save the drippings to make your own beef broth. Then, instead of sauteing beef, add leftover roast.

Also, I think the dish would still be tasty minus onions and mushrooms.

Nutritional Information

If you use light sour cream and minimal amounts of butter, you’ll have a rich, lovely meal that won’t clog your arteries. Be careful including fatty beef. And if you find the beef broth too salty, make your own or use low-sodium broth.

An electric skillet is just the right size!
I found a slice of oven-toasted garlic bread a tasty addition to the meal.
2 Comments Add yours

  1. Amy says:

    I just made this and am waiting for Peter to hurry up and get home so we can eat it. But I’m sneaking bites in the meantime, you bet your buttons. And it’s GOOD!

    1. Julie says:

      And so easy to make too, yes? The leftovers are pretty darn good too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

