Five easy peasy meals that will keep you out of the drive thru

So there was no school today. I was probably one of the few people in the school board who was disappointed. (I shouldn’t vocalize that too much. Eggs might find their way to my door.)

It was a lazy day. After eating breakfast at 6AM (and enduring all the excited Facebook statuses about school being closed) I went back to bed. I got up. Ate breakfast again as lunch, had my coffee, then snuggled with my cat. Snuggling with cats on a lazy snow day is just heavenly, as long as you can forget the whole loss of $140 in wages. I can do lazy. That’s why I like easy cooking.

I’ve been thinking of doing a post of my favourite meals that are bound to keep me out of the drive thru because a) they’re tasty and b) they’re easy peasy to make.

I do wish I had pictures. When I cook, I’m just interested in the cooking and eating, not the taking of pictures. I promise to add some in the future, the next time I make my favourite dishes.

 

1. Lemon garlic spaghetti. This is my new favourite. It came from a blogger, who discovered it on Pinterest. And it was actually pinned from another blog. It has made its way around! I love it because it is easy. This is my version.

Boil pasta. Can you do that much? I’m sure.

Toss fresh lemon (or bottled lemon) with garlic (fresh or powdered), parmesan cheese, and olive oil. Add basil or other herbs if you like.

Eat.

 

2. Quesadillas. These are next to godliness. I would pick them over fast food any day of the week.

Slap cheese and salsa into a tortilla. Fry in pan with a little oil. Put on plate and dip in sour cream.

May I also suggest adding: tomatoes, green onions, chicken?

 

3. Taco dip with tortilla chips. I love these. You get your crunch fix and they’re FULL of taste. Here’s the recipe.

 

4. Egg McMuffins. I am addicted to these breakfast sandwiches from McDonalds. They’re easy to make at home though, even if they’re not as neat. (And P.S. I eat them for supper, sometimes lunch.)

Toast English muffins. Fry an egg (see if you can get one of those silicon moulds to keep it round).

Put on muffin with cheese. Cheez Whiz or non-processed cheese works. And is delish.

If you’re a carnivore, get some bacon or ham to make it really like the one from McDonalds. I’m trying to eat less processed meat. You don’t have to. But you should.

 

5. Pita pizzas. I like to keep pitas in the freezer so I can make these any time. Sometimes it’s hard to eat all the bread before it gets mouldy.

Put sauce and all your favourite toppings on pita bread. I like green peppers, onions, and pineapple. I’m in love with pineapple. I’m going to marry it. I also use spaghetti sauce instead of pizza sauce because that’s how I roll.

Cook pitas in oven for 10 minutes, or until bread is crispy. Easy peasy.

All of these meals are healthy if you use the right ingredients (e.g. whole grains) and avoid adding extra sodium. They’re quick AND will give you a junk food fix. Now you have no excuse to go to the drive thru. My apologizes to Wendy’s.

I’m salivating already. Don’t forget the sour cream for your quesadillas!
Leave a Reply

