I’m never flossing again

True story, folks.

The other night, while flossing for the first time in awhile (I fall off the flossing wagon every now and then), I uncovered a chunk of walnut. Great visual there for you, I know.

Well, at least I thought it was a walnut, until my tongue licked a rough spot on my tooth.

Back when I had teeth. Those were the days.

Where is the rest of my tooth?

I was too shocked to even think of obscenities. My teeth! Falling out! Into my hands! While flossing!

I didn’t get my first cavity until I was 16, and only started getting a few because I went on medication that gave me fuzzy sock mouth. I always felt bad for people who had a mouthful of silver and black. It seemed an awful cross to bear.

So it’s ironic that my teeth have come to this point.

I suppose I’ll have to start cutting off my corn when faced with a cob of it. I hope I get to keep at least one I can call Chomper.

I used to be loyal about going for a cleaning every 6 months. I love that dentist clean mouth. You know, your teeth are so polished, they squeak.

Then I got on dental plans through work and university that would only pay for exams every 9 months. Cheapskates.

I graduated from university last summer, so my September appointment wasn’t covered by the school’s dental plan. Because I didn’t have 2 cents to my name, I cancelled it. I’ll floss more, I told myself, and rinse with fluoride every night.

Fast forward to January 23, when I’m looking at a piece of my tooth in my hand.

I’m pretty sure that getting my tooth fixed will cost a lot of money. A lot. Like enough to buy an iPad. Or get botox. It burns my barn down because I want to save up for an eye exam so I can get contacts and glasses which aren’t covered in metal that’s turning green, and as many scratches as if Jack was playing with them. I’m a real princess, I know.

Life sans medical plans can be dismal, especially when you have no peripheral vision and perpetual red marks on your nose from your glasses. I’m thankful that Nova Scotia at least has a drug plan for us people without employer coverage. I need that now that I’m 31. It’s soon time for pills to prevent cholesterol and osteoporosis.

I might as well break out the food processor in preparation for pureeing my food. Anyone have a good recipe for blending liver and onions?

7 Comments Add yours

  1. Ash says:

    You can, as a sub, pay into a monthly plan that will cover your medical and dental…. Might want to look into it. Spending the extra cash each month will really save you in a pinch (example my knee). Don’t wait for an employer to give you a plan. Find your own.

    1. Julie says:

      Thanks! That might be a great plan!

  2. Dan says:

    I had a similar instance with my tooth a few years ago, while driving! I had no coverage through work when almost 1/3 of my tooth fell out. Weirdest part of it was that six weeks earlier I had gone for a cleaning and X-rays, which indicated all was well. My dentist of then 21 years said “I’ve never seen anything like it, I’ve only read about it!” Since money was tight, and there was the possibility of the “cause” recurring, she put in a temporary filling relatively inexpensively to tide me over until I got coverage.

    1. Julie says:

      It’s looking like I fork over some money to get in on the NSTU plan. Tomorrow, I’m checking it out… it might be cheaper than a trip to the dentist! 🙂

  3. BlueRay says:

    Dear Julie,
    Along the same lines,, Ive heard this claim several times, and while i acknowledge that flossing is important for the health of your teeth and gums, i just don’t get how it improves the health of your cardiovascular system as they seem to be completely unrelated.
    Wishes

Leave a Reply

