Reflections on a rainy snow day

There was a time I loved snow days almost as much as Christmas morning.

Going to bed while the wind whistled outside, and the snow beat against my windows.

Waking up with great expectation and rushing to the radio (now the internet) to find out if all South Shore Regional School Board schools were closed for the day.

And, finally, going back to bed while the wind whistled outside and the snow beat against my windows.

Yesterday, schools were cancelled 1.5 hours early in anticipation of a Nor’easter due to drop 10 centimetres of snow on our green lawns.

In other words, I got home early without a drop in pay. Pretty sweet, if you ask me. I was also pretty happy to be home ahead of the storm (and a little disappointed because I do enjoy the occasional drive in snow).

This morning, though, I was torn. I love snow days. Going back to bed? Yes, please.

However, I don’t get paid a cent if school is cancelled. And these days, I need every cent I can get.

I woke up at 4:30, then peeked out my window. The roads looked reasonably clear. Yes, the storm turned to rain at some point through the night (I heard it change. The soft whip of snow against the windows because the decided snap of hard rain).

When my alarm shrieked at 6:05, though, I was dismayed/happy to discover all schools in the board were cancelled.

Good news. I got to go back to bed.

Bad news. I got to pay a lot of money for the privilege through lost wages. Bah.

Ah, the trials and tribulations of the substitute teacher. (If you’re a “real” teacher, you get snow day pay. If you’re a sub, you get s”no”w pay whatsoever. Darn.)

Being the optimist that I am, though, I enjoyed my snow day and tried not to think of those mounting bills. I slept in until 10:30, when Jack the cat decided to pureow and hop on my chest. Then I had breakfast number 2. I had pumpkin seed granola at breakfast number 1; breakfast number 2 was Cinnamon Bliss from Sally’s Cereal which stomps Cinnamon Toast Crunch into the ground AND is only $3 a bag at Wal-Mart.

Breakfast number 2 also involved coffee. My current fave is The Great Canadian Coffee from Loblaws. It’s bright and rich, and costs $11.99 for a ginormous can. It’s a perfect all-purpose coffee that people have compared to Tim Horton’s brew. I think it’s better than Timmy’s coffee. And much cheaper. I like cheap. Except in men.

I had a very productive day today. I made my bed. Played Bejewelled Blitz. Had a nap. Fried homemade quesadillas for supper. And am now doing a blog post. Win.

Quesadillas

  • whole wheat tortillas
  • tomatoes, peppers, onions OR salsa
  • cheddar cheese
  • sour cream
  • canola oil for frying

Chop your vegetables into small pieces OR pop open a jar of your favourite salsa.

Fill tortilla with cheese and vegetables (or salsa) and place in heated pan with oil on the bottom. I put two together and make a “sandwich” which I then cut. I’m not sure if this is the real Mexican way; it is the Julie way.

Fry until cheese is melted, then place on a plate and cut.

Dip in sour cream and enjoy while still piping hot.

Nutritional Information

If you choose light sour cream and light cheese, you have yourself a great low-fat way to enjoy vegetables! These should be a big hit with kids too.

Who needs salsa when you can chop your own fresh veggies?
Into the frying pan! I make my quesadillas sandwich-style, but you can also just fold one tortilla over.
Yummy.
Leave a Reply

