Resolutions for 2012 (and other fairy tales)

Hello first post of 2012! I love even numbered years. I’m an even numbered gal; there’s just something about those odd numbers I just don’t trust, even if I was born on one.

2011 was a busy year, what with finishing my last degree and plunging into the job market once more. However, there’s lots I want to accomplish in the next few years, which means I have more than a few resolutions for 2012!

Healthy living. I needs to lose me some weight ASAP. Now that I’m in my 30s, it’s time to get serious about improving my diet and getting more exercise. Ideally, I would lose at least 70-80 pounds, but that seems a bit too much to chew off in January. Ideally, I would like to be rocking the two-piece bathing suit this summer. More realistically, though, I have some smaller resolutions.

  • Eat more fruits and veggies, with at least one orange and one green fruit or vegetable every day. Homemade salsa and lots of turnip and carrot sticks are a great way to start!
  • Cut back on white sugar and choose more alternatives like honey and maple syrup for the sweetening I do need.
  • Buy more from the organics section.
  • Make more stuff from scratch.
  • Move at least once a day, starting with walking this winter. I also have an ancient stepper from the Acadia University Dump and Run that could be useful.
  • Add in more light activities like stretching and weights, which are currently buried and dusty under my bed (including some modern version of the ThighMaster that I barely know how to use).

Healthy finances. University has ruined my financial health, so I’d like to get back on track. Maybe, eventually, I can even get a house  (at least that’s the five year plan)! It’s a daunting task when you’re carting around a student loan after attending one of the most expensive universities in Canada.

  • Pay down my credit cards, starting with the high interest card first. Then cut up the high interest card; I only got it because I received a free hat when I signed up. Oh, the joys of being a university student courted by creditors…
  • Set aside money for some things I really need, including glasses.
  • Save a little money for a rainy day.
  • Avoid impulse purchases so I can save more and put it on my debts.
  • Begin couponing extremely. I started by joining Extreme Couponing Canada on Facebook!
  • Cut back on groceries WHILE eating healthy.
Each year, my resolutions fall by the wayside, but I’m hoping that by keeping it simple, some of them will work out in 2012! Do you have any major resolutions?

An apple a day will help with those resolutions!
Leave a Reply

