Recipes to riches (to my tummy)

Over the weekend I met Recipe to Riches winner Glo McNeill, who just HAPPENS to be from Lunenburg. Booyah! (Okay, booyah is a little old, I know.)

Glo was at the Bridgewater Superstore giving away samples of her Luscious Lemon Pudding Cakes. She’s quite the saleswoman too! If you were anywhere near the Recipe to Riches display case, you were trying her pudding! Or else! (Just kidding; she is an awesome, funny woman!)

The lemon pudding cakes are delicious. They aren’t complicated; they don’t have exotic ingredients (like cardamom). If a lemon pie, a lemon cake, and a lemon pudding had a baby, this dessert would be it. (Though genetically, I’m not sure how that would work.)

Pop a pudding into the microwave or oven and you have a simple, easy dessert this holiday season. A box of 4 is either $6.99 or $7.99 (I forget which). That is a bit pricey to buy every week, but it is a treat. And the servings are a bit heavy on calories, but they contain Vitamin A, so those calories aren’t entirely empty. Maybe split one with someone.

Since I LOVE trying new products, I also tried Kulfi Karma Ice Cream because it was a commitment of only $3.49. I wouldn’t have tried a big jar because it includes cardamom and rose water (not exactly in my pantry!) and I wasn’t sure my bland tastes would go for the unusual combination.

However, the ice cream is delightful. I’m not sure I can entirely describe the taste, as there’s little in my palate to compare it to. It tastes like a spicy flower. It’s very different and not for everyone, but at $3.49, why not try a tub?

In the future, I can’t wait to try the pulled pork; I love pulled pork, especially on some garlic bread. I would marry pulled pork if I could. The bannock with hazelnuts and squash also sound like a nifty supper some night.

If you watched the show, how can you resist trying these dishes? My only complaint is that they are a bit expensive (but then, aren’t all packaged foods?)

If you’d like to try some of the recipes yourself, they are posted on the Recipes to Riches website, including:

Pulled Pork

Creamy Kulfi (the ice cream!)

Bannock Hazelnut Pie

Glo’s Lemon Pudding

The rest of the recipes are here. If you don’t want to spend the money buying them, try them at home! It’s the best time of the year for baking and yummies!

Glo McNeill! And cat food. By the way, I don't eat cat food. I have a cat. Seriously.
I love how each pudding is individually wrapped. Use one. Eat two. It's all up to you!
I love the packaging for these products!
The ice cream is a creamy brown. Yum.
Leave a Reply

