It’s the most wonderful time of the year

Fall is my favourite time of the year.  The smells.  The crisp nights cuddled under a blankie.

And of course, the harvest!  Especially when I get the benefits of all the great food without any of the hard work!

The South Shore of Nova Scotia isn’t overburdened with farm markets.  Not like the Annapolis Valley where you can spend a 20 spot and get bags and bags of produce!  I miss driving there every day, when I could lug home fresh corn and apples.  I was more than happy to get to the Valley yesterday and score some Cortland apples (seconds for $5—a ginormous bag too!) and all other sorts of yummies.  I’m eating the Cortlands as we speak and they are perfect!  Crisp and white and sweet.  Thank you Noggin’s, one of my favourite farm markets!

Along with a huge bag of small onions to hang in my basement all winter, I also scored some great photos at Doyle’s Market in South Alton, on Trunk 12.  Definitely one of my other favourite farm markets!  I used to stop here all the time on my drive home from Acadia.  Their peaches and cream corn is always the best!

Happy fall, everyone.  May you enjoy your harvest!

I love decorative corn, even if it isn't as tasty as peaches and cream corn...
Dear gourd! These are always so cute and funky even if they serve little purpose other than decoration!
Turkey bird! How clever!
RIP pile of dirt. RIP.
This is what happens when you have too much pumpkin gin the night before...

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. I love the pics! The last one is very creative!

    1. Author says:

      Thanks! Doyle’s Farm Market is one awesome place! They’ve really outdone themselves this year, too.

Leave a Reply

