Bedroom makeover adventures

I love to paint AND find things second-hand.  I’ve been hoarding things for a bedroom redesign for a few years, including:

  • a can of purple paint that was mistinted and only $10 (yes $10 for a can of deluxe Beauti-tone!)
  • flowery sheers from Value Village ($12.99)
  • duvet cover and pillow cases from Value Village (2 x $0.99 and $7.99 or so; I forget the exact price)

Purple?  Blue?  Greeny yellowy white?  The choices, the choices!  I had three mistints to pick from, so I put a splash of all three on my wall.  Eventually I settled on this purple called “Allium” (which is the name of the onion family.)  This colour reminds me of chive blossoms.

I apologize for the quality of the pictures, but taking shots in a small bedroom is super hard!  If you want a close up, just click on the photo and it will super size itself.

P.S. This is proof you CAN do useful, productive things while you’re unemployed.


I liked the peach, but it was time for a fresh look.
More peachy goodness.


Le finished product.
Neat! Tidy! Faux orchids, Dollarama $1 x 2
More neat! More tidy! Lemon topiary that was not welcome in the kitchen $2, Dawson Daisy!
Godey's Fashion Plate plate. I can't remember how much this was, or where I got it, but it was second hand and a couple of bucks. I loves me fashion history.
More fashion history! I scored this needlepoint of 17th century fashion at Value Village for $3.99 or thereabouts.
Love one another! Dollar store wall stickers. The bird stickers aren't feeling the love, though, because they keep falling off.
A bedroom makeover isn't complete until it meets with feline "coziness" approval.
2 Comments Add yours

  1. The cat is the perfect accessory!

  2. Author says:

    Jack would agree 100% 😉

Leave a Reply

