Nanny’s cucumber salad

Cucumber salad is one of my favourite summer treats, especially at family barbecues (not that this prevents me from having it with fresh potatoes at any meal.)

A person can make this during the winter (after all, you use hothouse English cucumbers anyhoo) but cucumber salad is decidely a summer dish.  My maternal grandmother often made this recipe, sometimes with whipping cream.  I’d advise using a more health-friendly cream like blend (10% milk fat) or light cream (5% milk fat.)

You Need:

  • 1 or more English cucumbers
  • cream (go with as little milk fat as you like, even light cream)
  • salt
  • pepper
  • apple cider vinegar
  • a mixing bowl
  • a small plate that fits in the mixing bowl
  • a heavy object (maybe even a special, cleaned rock!)

Step One

Prepare English cucumber at least 4 to 5 hours ahead.  Peel the skin.  (One works for about 2-3 peckish people; more people, more cucumber needed.)  After you peel it, slice it as thinly as possible.  Dump them in mixing bowl.

Step Two

The goal is to press out as much water as possible.  You’re going to put LOADS of salt over the cucumbers (don’t worry, you won’t be consuming it) to help draw out the water.

Step Three

Put the plate on top of the cucumbers, then put your heavy object on the plate.  You need to let this sit for hours.  If you can prepare it in the morning, that’s even better, but lunch time isn’t too late for supper consumption.

Step Four

Just before supper, take off your rock and plate.  Wash your cucumbers and drain.  You don’t want to eat all of that salt!  Yucko!  Wash a couple of times until you’re sure.

Step Five

Mix up sour cream to taste.  I use apple cider vinegar.  Add sugar and pepper to taste.  Too much vinegar will make your lips burn off.

Step Six

Put sour cream over cucumbers.  Some people put onions in their cucumber salad.  I don’t.  It’s up to you.

Step Seven

Eat and enjoy.  If you made it using whipping cream, I’d suggest going for a walk and a EKG.

This dish goes best with barbecue food.  (Then doesn’t everything?)  Happy summer eating!

Cucumbers, sliced and ready to go.
Nanny had a special cucumber salad rock. It is covered in plastic wrap.
5 Comments Add yours

  1. hodgepodge says:

    Now *this* sounds like my Nanny’s cucumber salad recipe… she never ever wrote anything down, and since she died seven years ago I’ve not had a cucumber salad I really liked. Thank you for sharing it! I’m going to make it for supper tomorrow!

  2. Author says:

    You’re more than welcome! It’s my favourite summer salad, I think, even if it has no redeeming nutritional value 😉

  3. harpmando says:

    Must be a cucumber moon or something. I have five growing in the garden and was wondering what to do with them.

    Thank you very much for this recipe I might just give it a try.

    Take care

    kevin

  4. Laura Best says:

    Love it so much I even put it in my book!!!

  5. Author says:

    It is pretty yummy! I’m sure Nanny used a lot of field cucumbers in her day, but I’m a princess and prefer no seeds 🙂

    Hope you’re weathering the storm in E. Dalhousie!

Leave a Reply

