Auntie Julie

I love babies.

I’ve never changed a diaper in my life (that will probably change in the next decade) but I love babies.  I don’t have any of my own yet (obviously: see previous statement) but I love babies.

And now I get to live vicariously through my niece.

The rocking chair at my place is all ready for snuggles!

Little Mayah was born in early July after a super-speedy delivery and was almost delivered IN the car.

She is perfect in every way.  Big eyes.  A mop of dark silky hair that occasionally sticks up straight like she’s put product in it.  And those delightfully chubby cheeks and arms that make babies utterly perfect.

She had her baby shower Saturday, a very hot day for a get together.  When I held her, and she opened her eyes to look up at me with her beautiful baby blues, I was absolutely besotted.  I wanted to know what she was thinking as those eyes looked out at the big bright world.  What do you think when you’re six weeks old?

Do they know that babies represent the future?  The continuation of genes in a very Darwinian way?  We are not immortal, but we become immortal when we have children.  We live on through them (but hopefully don’t live through them.)

I have always adored babies, but didn’t realize how endlessly fascinating even the smallest little thing about them was.  I could stare for hours at her little face, watching her blink, watching her sleep, watching her scrunch up her face to cry.  Eventually children toddle away to play and don’t want to be held for hours on end, but when they’re so small, you can hold them forever.

My niece is one of those babies you could hold forever.  She goes into a deep sleep and can be passed around to everyone and their dog.  Her big brother, Dexter the German Shepherd, can bark in her ear, and she can sleep on, precious as ever.

I can’t wait to see what she becomes.  Will she be a nurse?  An accountant?  Will she be tall?  Like to read?  Watching her grow up will be the most miraculous thing ever.

This is one of the reasons I enjoy teaching.  I love watching people grow up.  They have the potential to do so much and be so much.  What will they choose?  What will they be?

This is the miracle of babies and children.  I’m delighted I get to experience this with my little niece.

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

