And now a post that’s not about death: my favourite food ever

My last two posts have been about death, so I figger I should consider a lighter topic for today.  (And it’s Saturday, best day of the week, so I shall commence with my ramblings on my favourite food ever.)

And so we have: macaroni and cheese.  AKA Crap Dinner.

I am a pasta freak.  I can eat it every day.  Seriously.  Every day.  Twice a day even.  The carb coma doesn’t frighten me one bit because I live for pasta.

Heaven in a box.

Years ago, when I had my wisdom teeth gouged out, I discovered I could still eat mac and cheese.  I was eating it THAT VERY DAY because I was starving thanks to the don’t-eat-before-surgery rule.  Starving.  Soup wasn’t going to cut it.  I needed solids.

Now, as you know, it’s kind of hard to chew after wisdom teeth extraction (for the love of Pete stay away from chips!)  Some people can’t eat for days; some can pack away food, no problem.  I was in the middle.  I could eat, but I needed something soft.

Enter mac and cheese.

I am alive today because pasta is quick, easy, and dirt cheap.  I grew up in a house of meat and potatoes, and I would have died if there hadn’t been boxes of Crap Dinner in the cupboard.  I learned to make it very young.

University could have killed my love of pasta since I made it like EVERYDAY but it didn’t.  Instead, it made me love that food even more.

Today I still love mac and cheese.  Any kind.

Homemade mac and cheese?  Effin awesome.  With a little ground mustard and lots of onions… yummers.  It’s delicious.  A little heavy when you realize how much fat and cheese go into making this casserole wonder, but it’s good eatin’, on a par with hash brown casserole.

Frozen mac and cheese is another favourite.  It’s even faster than Crap Dinner.  Unfortunately, it’s loaded with sodium, but it’s one of the few frozen dinners I will actually eat.  I think it’s because they don’t put soggy vegetables in it.

And then, of course, you have my ultimate favourite: mac and cheese from a box!

The special kind with Velveeta cheese is good, but my go-to brand is definitely PC’s Mini Chefs Cha-Cha-Cheesy Mac and Cheese.  It has no artificial colours in it (so it’s not gaudy orange) and it’s not as salt-ridden as some of the other brands.

My favourite aspect: it’s cheesy.  (Just like me.)

Sometimes I add ketchup.  (Yes, ketchup is important to my mac and cheese experience.)

Sometimes I add fajita or taco seasoning.  Spice up your day!  Taco Seasoning (especially PC Blue Menu with less sodium) makes this taste fantastic.  You can even substitute the butter for sour cream as you’re mixing it up.

Yes, heaven is a box of mac and cheese.  Yum, yum, yum.  It’s even better if I can crunch on some of the raw noodles first.  I love raw noodles.  I always eat a handful before I put the pasta into boil.  Crunch, crunch, crunch.

I will never be a major foodie, will never start whipping up tapenades for supper, but I will always love my mac and cheese.  I don’t always know what form it will take, but there will always be room in my belly for pasta and cheese together.

Leave a Reply

