Rainy day options

It’s the summer of rain in Nova Scotia.  It could be worse.  We could be living in London or Somalia, and under the threat of rioting or starving.

Our threat?  Growing mouldy.

Rain, rain, rain.  Showers, showers, showers.  Throw in a little hail and thunder, and you’ve got late July and early August summed up.

Don’t get me wrong.  I detest heat.  (You can find a few previous posts on the topic.)  Mostly because my thermoregulation is a little wonky.  I sweat, but I don’t cool.  I drink water until my stomach sloshes around like a wave pool, but I still can’t stave off heat exhaustion.  So I do my best to stay out of the sun (unless I’m at the beach or within walking distance of some other body of water.)

In a way, I enjoy a cool spell.  Why?  Because there are many ways to entertain oneself on a rainy day.

Blogging

This one is an obvious one.  For those of you who are not so verbose, there’s always Twitter and Facebook status updates.

Reading

I just finished Bleak House by Charles Dickens.  This is one humdinger of a novel.  It’s why the word tome was invented: almost 900 pages of Victorian prose, decorated  only by a few line drawings.  When I was a young pup, I didn’t care much for Dickens.  These days, I have a new appreciation for his tone and powers of description.  I plan to attack a few other novels, maybe even on sunny days.

Better After

I’m sure I found the link to this website on someone’s Facebook or Twitter.  Better After is teeming with delicious befores and afters of decorating projects and furniture makeovers.  I too like buying junk and envisioning it glistening with new paint and hardware.  The difference?  Mine rarely gets accomplished.  However, I like looking through the blog at all the purdy things other people have madeover.  I like makeovers of any variety, but especially furniture!

Cooking/Baking

On the days I’m most engrossed in a book or job search, I don’t do a lot of cooking or baking.  However, I’ve been getting spurts of wanting to make everything from scratch.  And rainy days just beg for comfort cookies and other edibles.  I think I have to whip up a batch tomorrow (unfortunately you just don’t burn many calories cuddled up and reading on the couch!)

Napping

Whenever Jack my cat gets up on my lap, he makes me sleepy.  I think there’s something in his fur.  Pixie dust, or something.  Or maybe it’s just watching him fall into la-la-land.  Whatever it is, it makes me sleepy too.  And when the rain is beating up against the window, I find little reason to fight the Afternoon Nap.  Heck, I’ll even consider a morning nap.  Blankie required.

Cleaning

Nesting is important when it rains, and I do enjoy cleaning when it’s rainy.  What better time to clean out your dresser drawers or kitchen cupboards?  I’ll confess that all the other things on my list have taken priority, but I do plan on doing some cleaning or organizing one of these rainy days.  I’ll keep you posted.

These are just a few of the things I like to do on a rainy day in the summer, when there’s no possibility of going to the lake for a swim.  If it continues, though, I should probably consider getting some lumber and upgrading to an ark.

A rainy day through my windshield. Not that I would take a picture while my car is moving.
One Comment Add yours

  1. suzanne says:

    Good suggestions! I tend to fall into a cleaning mood when it’s rainy too. The recent weeks have been a little damp. At least it makes me feel that I’m not missing anything while I’m at work.

Leave a Reply

