I’m not waking up for the royal wedding

I’m sure the royal wedding this Friday will be utterly beautiful and divine.  However, I won’t be getting up in the wee hours of the morning to see the spectacle.

For one, thanks to the internet, it will be replayed millions of times on You Tube.

And two, I wouldn’t even get up at 3 a.m. for my own wedding.

I think the upcoming nuptials of Prince William and Miss Kate mark a moment of hope for a monarchy that has been lost since Charles and Di fell apart (and Fergie and whoever she was married to.)

Two young people who are in love are committing to each other for the rest of their lives.  There’s definitely a chance it will work.  After all, Kate Middleton is one of the few would-be queens who actually has a university education.  Contrast this with poor Di, who was little more than a young girl who wed Charles after a itty bitty courtship of less than a year.

I’m not caught up in all the hoopla.  Though I wouldn’t mind having a fake Made-in-China engagement ring.  I see them being produced in the news.  (Kind of like my Heart of the Ocean from Titanic.  You’d be surprised how few places you can wear a glittering Heart of the Ocean.)

I also don’t understand why people would want cheesy merchandise like cups and ashtrays commemorating the event.  Nova Scotia is quite removed from the pageantry of the royals in London.  Sure we have the queen on our money, but Westminster Abbey is a long ways from our quaint little churches; Bentleys and Rolls Royces are a long way from our pick up trucks and Civics.

While I wish the new couple well, I doubt I will be doing more than scanning the internet for a few photos of the couple in their wedding garb.  There’s more important things to be worried about, such as the Canadian election and our own faux royalty.

Maybe I’m just bitter because Prince William isn’t marrying me.

Jack's not getting up early either.
One Comment Add yours

  1. harpmando says:

    I don’t blame you for not waking, but it will be an event of jaw dropping beauty. There is more than the off chance that the ghost of lady Di will try to scupper the proceedings, severe thunder storms are predicted.

    Love them or hate them no one does the royal family thing better than us British people. There is all that pomp and ceremony, the romance and the scandal. They are a necessary evil, they keep us peasants in our place and make us different from the French.

    I’ll be digging the garden and potting on the carrots and spring onions.

Leave a Reply

