Spring cleaning, elections, and other miscellany

Bad blogger.  Bad, bad, bad blogger.  I haven’t been online in a month.  No doubt because I’ve been teaching for a month.  And even though most people don’t know it, teachers work long hours.  I start an hour before school.  I’m there an hour after, sometimes more.  And then there’s lesson planning, marking, and whatever else!

However, I have been enjoying my month.  I think it’s deeply satisfying to know you’ve found what you want to do with your life.  (Besides unpaid blogging.)

And, of course, it’s such an amazing time of year.  I want to clean everything.  I come from a traditional area where spring cleaning is something you do every spring.  You launder your curtains and bed.  You scrub down the walls.  You rearrange your furniture in anticipation of summer.

This weekend I’ll be busy with the living room.  I’ve stacks of books all around.  They keep falling over.  (I should just stop buying them but the Acadia Dump and Run is next weekend, and I know I’ll come home with a box of books for about five bucks.)

And, of course, my teaching supplies and papers (and the mountain of curriculum guides put out by the province) have little organization whatsoever.

Yes, I want to clean! and paint! and organize!  All before summer’s gentle breezes come.

Perhaps the election is not so different!  We shall spring clean Parliament and hopefully do something different with it so we can face the future with a fresh start.

There’s something about this time of year.  The sun is shining.  The first green mounds are appearing in the gardens.  Flocks of robins are scouring the lawn for worms.  And the red buds are blossoming on trees.  And the peepers at night.  Oh how I love the peepers!

What do you love about spring?

Who doesn't love the beautiful colours of spring?
One Comment Add yours

  1. Laura Best says:

    I’m hoping for some warm weather. Maybe you’ll find some while you’re cleaning this weekend..That would be extra nice.

Leave a Reply

