Gasmageddon 2011

A couple of years ago, I paid an arm and a leg for gas.  Trust me, it was definitely an arm and a leg; and I paid it almost every other day.  Travelling two hours every day (an hour each way) tends to burn a bit of the ol’ petrol.  At the time, I was driving a car with a 3.8 litre engine that sputtered and coughed if you put anything less than supreme in its gas tank.  I’ll bet I spend a good $20 a day for gasoline.

One litre of self serve = one hand.

I thought those days were gone for awhile.  I got a new car, this one with a 2.2 litre engine that is remarkably fuel efficient… and even better, only needs regular gas, not supreme!

Unfortunately, I still have a two hour commute for a few more weeks, which will be pricier than ever thanks to unrest in the Middle East.  I am not savvy when it comes to economics and commodities (in fact, do you pronounce it eek-a-nomics or eck-a-nomics?) but I do know that our bumbling, stumbling economy here in the Atlantic provinces isn’t going to be much improved by gas that costs $1.30 per litre.

I also tire of politicians telling people to use public transportation.  The only public transportation in New Germany: school buses.  On occasion, you can catch a taxi.  I think they come from Bridgewater, about 20 minutes away.

I think public transportation is a good idea.  In fact, I’m quite disappointed the train tracks were ripped up when I was a kid.  I think it would be lovely to hop on a train and go wherever the wind takes me (or train, as it were.)

Buses have a particular charm.  I enjoyed taking them when I was in Victoria, British Columbia.  It was especially enjoyable when there was standing room only and you could smell sweat all around you.  (Okay, so public transportation isn’t always so great.  But at least there’s the option.)

Here in the country, we just have our neighbours.  Need a lift?  Call a neighbour, slip them a $20 for gas (maybe more now.)  That’s rural transportation.

High gas prices hit rural areas the hardest, which isn’t quite fair when our economy is already kaput.  Rural citizens don’t have options other than selling their homes and moving closer to work (and what work?)  That isn’t a short term solution, that’s for sure.

While the media goes to the city gas stations first, to listen to people complain about the price of gas, it’s a different story out here in the country.  When gas goes up to $1.30 a litre, something has to give, especially if you rely on a truck for your business.

Yes, some days it’s mighty tempting to go back to horse and wagon, though I hear food and other commodities are rising as well.  So ixnay on the horse-ay.  Guess I’ll have to keep thinking!

Leave a Reply

