To Valentine’s Day, I say, Bah hambug!

To say I hate Valentine’s Day might be a little extreme.  But I’m going to say it anyway.

I hate Valentine’s Day.

However, I’m definitely a hypocrite.  If I wasn’t single, I’m sure I would love Valentine’s Day (unless I got a sewing machine or vacuum cleaner from my significant other, in which case, I would continue to loathe the holiday.)

When you don’t have a lot of money or close family to visit, Christmas is loathsome at best.  It’s hard to love Christmas when you’re alone without presents.

Valentine’s without a significant other isn’t much better when other women are raking in the roses and chocolates from their sig others.  Not that I’m unhappy they’re getting such lovely presents; in fact, I love reading about all the gifts others are getting.

I just don’t like that I haven’t gotten any.

Of course, my future Prince Charming may:

  • ignore the holiday altogether
  • say I shouldn’t have any chocolates anyway
  • buy me a vacuum cleaner (actually I could use one)
  • give me a cubic zirconia and fool me into thinking it’s a real diamond (in that case, he wouldn’t be much of a Prince Charming)

And then I will be unhappy and bemoaning my lack of over-priced roses, far-too-rich chocolates, and ball-and-chain jewellery.

So what is it we want for Valentine’s Day?

I would settle for a romantic meal, preferably homemade and preferably pasta.  And a cozy night on the couch watching a romantic chick flick.

What do you like on Valentine’s Day?

Who am I kidding? I'm always a sucker for roses.
Leave a Reply

