This year, I resolve the following 15 things

Even if you resolve to make no resolutions for New Year’s, it’s inevitable.  It happens.

You make a resolution.

I don’t think there’s anything wrong with New Year’s resolutions per se, other than they tend to last for a week or two, then peter out.

Here’s my list of resolutions for this year.

This year, I resolve to…

  1. use the phrase “peter out” more and giggle like a schoolgirl.
  2. watch the refined carbs because they usually come in the form of baked goods laden with sugar… with sweet, heavenly sugar.
  3. start moving more.  Not house moving.  I hate that.  I resolve to do that less.  But exercise moving.  I resolve to do more of that, even if it means whipping out my Pilates row thingamagig.
  4. finally paint my room.
  5. floss every night so I don’t have to hang my head in shame when I go to the dentist’s.
  6. be more assertive when the situation demands it.
  7. curse slow drivers less (I’m afraid my constitution will not allow for a total ban on slow driver epithets while behind a car going the speed of a dead turtle.)
  8. follow world news more so that my dreadful geography is a little less dreadful.
  9. begin a conversion to using products that do not use animal testing.  I’m sorry Dove, but I can’t endure the idea of you might use bunnies to test your shampoo.
  10. on that note, eat less meat to cut back on the suffering of animals.
  11. not buy cheap uncomfortable shoes, even if they’re $3 at Wal-Mart and cute as a picture.
  12. call my friends more and let them know I think of them.
  13. lecture people when they diss the LGBT community and say things like That’s so gay.
  14. throw away some of the things I have packratted away in the past 30 years.
  15. organize everything else that remains so it’s no longer a fire hazard.

I’ll let you know in a week how it’s going.

I resolve to eat LESS meat. Even if it is tasty.
Leave a Reply

