Nova Scotia’s tropical hell

Between June and September, Nova Scotia can experience humidity that will break the spirit of anyone.

However, late August and early September has been especially sickening this year.

I hate the heat.  Seriously.  I love swimming, flipflops, and barbecuing, but if our temperature never surpassed 20 degrees, I would be a happy camper.

Call me a Grinch all you want, but I hate heat.  It hates me.  We have an uneasy relationship at best.

For some reason, I can’t cool down.  I’m a freak of nature.  My thermoregulation is a little off, by at least 10 degrees.  I get heat exhaustion long before anyone else.  If it’s 20 degrees Celsius out, it feels like 30 to me.  If it’s 30, it feels like 40.

This week it was about 40, and I might as well have been in Death Valley.

It was also the week school started up again.

Ideally, all schools would have air conditioning.  After all, late May and June can be quite warm, especially in schoolhouses that were built in the 1950s and 60s.

This week, however, was an unofficial record breaker, as it was probably the hottest start of school in a long time.  I got in on the ground floor (actually the top floor, which was more sauna-like.)

It was unfortunate school wasn’t cancelled, because it was sickening.  The few fans teachers brought in from home just blew hot air.  And no air came in through the small windows.

Needless to say, I will be glad when this heat wave is gone and fall starts, with its frosty goodness.

The only good thing about having a wonky temperature system?  When it’s freezing this winter, it will feel like it’s 10 degrees.  Bring it on!

Think cold thoughts, think cold thoughts!
2 Comments Add yours

  1. Kevin Weaver says:

    I enjoy your info and agree with you about the heat…I’m not a fan of it either…

Leave a Reply

