Emmy loves and hates

Can’t get enough of those award shows!  I’m in awe of the pretty dresses and upswept hair-dos; and, of course, the dapper men in their penguin suits.

It’s late, I should be in bed, but if I don’t remark on the show now, I’ll forget it by morning, when I crawl out of bed with my crazy cat lady hair (worse now that I have bangs.)

So in no particular order, here are my loves and hates of the 2010 Emmy Awards.

Negative first.

Hates

  • The clapping during the montage of celebrities dead and gone.  Need we clap more at Roy Disney’s demise than Soupy Sales?  Besides, does clapping mean you’re glad they’re dead, or do you miss them more?
  • Ricky Gervais.  I really want to like him but he makes it so hard.
  • Kyra Sedgwick’s speech.  Yes, we know the microphone was too low; please don’t mention it twice.  Smile, accept the award, and leave the stage.  This goes to all of those motor mouths who feel the need to thank every Tom, Dick, and Harry for everything they ever did.  I’d like to care, but the only people who care are the people mentioned in the speech.
  • Speeches which are too long.
  • The Emmy’s equal the Academy Awards in the way-too-frickin-long category.
  • January Jones blue frock.  I think enough people will comment on the Madonna-like cones on her bodice.  I will say the colour was beautiful.  The shape?  Not so much.
  • That Jon Stewart wasn’t there to pick up his award.
  • That Martin’s Short’s wife passed on just before the show AND he didn’t win the award in his category.  Zut.

Loves

  • All the people I liked won.  Coincidence?  I think… absolutely so.
  • Jane Lynch.  Her delivery on Glee is phenomenal.  She has the staying power of Betty White.
  • Jim Parsons.  Again, my word of the night: delivery.  I love Big Bang Theory, and the character of Sheldon is the reason why.  For some reason, I had to grow into this show.  Now I can’t get enough of it.  Jim Parson’s comedic chops are one reason why.
  • George Clooney.  Natural disasters have never sounded so charming; I want to help them all now.  Props to Clooney for inspiring charity.
  • Hugh Laurie.  He can wear a penguin suit, pair it with peppery scruff, and look fantastic every time.  I’m sorry he didn’t win an award, but he looked charming from the audience.  Sorry House Hugh.
  • Betty White.  A beauty at 88 years young and funny to boot.  I miss Golden Girls.
  • Jewel’s memorial tribute.  She starts so softly when she begins her songs, then rips your heart out with her vocals.  The world definitely needs more Jewel.
  • Jimmy Fallon as Elton John, then Billie Joe Armstrong from Green Day.  Wow.  He can actually sing.
  • Lea Michele’s necklace.
  • Matthew Morrison (le sigh.)
  • LL Cool J (LL le sigh.)

*Note, I didn’t comment on the opening number because I was still in the bathtub.  I didn’t see the end, because I got bored and began Facebooking.  The end.

Leave a Reply

