Literary adventures on a recession budget

Though I don’t read as much as I used to (I’m afraid university took some of the fun out of that hobby) I still enjoy books.

At the present time, I’m collecting more books than I’m actually reading, though I hope to (some day) enjoy sitting down with a good book dressed up in a classy font, and letting it squire me away to a different world.  I envision sitting in a cushy armchair with a lamp by its side, maybe a windowseat.

My current library is in shambles: hundreds of books are in stacks all over the basement.  Finding one is not quite like finding a needle in a haystack.  More like finding a fossil in a jagged cliff.  It requires careful precision, patience, and safety equipment.

And still I buy more.

These are usually not new books.  I’m on a student/recession budget which barely leaves money for food and gas, let alone that mythical category of “entertainment” (maybe something that exists on a professor’s budget?)

The Dawson Daisy in Bridgewater is one of my favourite sources for new books.  Rarely do the books cost more than $2.  Most are $1.  And I’m not talking 40 year old Harlequins.  No siree.  The Daisy often receives donations of everything from Harry Potter to the latest hardcovers.  Basically, I don’t come out of the Daisy without a new book.

Frenchy’s is another great source of cheap books.  A little more expensive than the Daisy, but not by much.  Again, you can find a variety of bestsellers from the past few years.  My only complaint with Frenchys: most of the books are from the United States and I have a particular affinity for local books.

The Acadia Dump and Run is a mass orgy of deals, basically student leftovers and donations which fill an arena.  Students leave behind a lot of great books, especially text books.  I love textbooks.  Think about it: you’re getting books worth $120 for peanuts.  Sometimes you can get a box of books for $2.  I’m not kidding.  I find it difficult to get my bargains to my car, those books are so dang heavy.

And of course, there’s book sales for charities, yard sales, and more.  I’d like to support authors directly, but at the present time, it’s used books or no books at all.  Someday I hope to have the budget for new books.  I really like the smell of a fresh book; it’s like you can smell the trees from which the paper was made.  Mmmm, booky.

Of course, when my budget permits (so maybe in four years) I have every intention of buying a portable book reader whether it’s a Kindle or an iPad.  By the time I can afford one, there will probably be a dozen cheaper versions of the iPad, so I should be all set.

I read today that Amazon’s sales of electronic books have surpassed their hardcover sales.  Like wow.  Few of us have Kindles or iPads and already, electronic books have become a force to be reckoned with.

One of my writing friends has self-published some of her work and can sell it through Amazon.  It’s a great way to get out there without the prohibitive costs of printing.  I can’t wait to do something similar.  In fact, it’s probably not a bad idea to think of someone viewing my writing on a small computer tablet.

The world of reading is changing… and I can’t wait to see where it goes.  Perhaps this is as revolutionary as when the printing press was first invented.  I just hope it stays affordable because reading shouldn’t be limited by income.

I found this cup and saucer at the Daisy too; it's a match to a set I bought for university at a yard sale.
2 Comments Add yours

  1. Sarah says:

    check out http://www.bookmooch.com – it is where I get all my books – it is a fantastic site! 🙂

    1. Miss Julie says:

      Thanks! I forgot about adding Abe Books too.

Leave a Reply

