Things I just don’t get

After taking my IQ test yesterday (well an online one that purports to be an IQ test) I understand why some concepts are so hard to understand.  I’m not sure if these things will elude me for the rest of my life.  Maybe I’ll find the answers someday, if I look hard enough.

Things I don’t get:

Looks easier than using a corkscrew.
  • Justin Bieber
  • The Twilight Series (I get Robert Pattinson and Taylor Lautner, though, even if that makes me a cougar)
  • algebra (letters are for English, not Math!)
  • grammar
  • why humans can’t have something like catnip, which is all perfectly legal
  • liver and onions
  • the Parliamentary party system (maybe I get this, I just don’t feel it works)
  • running on cement for your health
  • spinach
  • getting drunk until you throw up (beats alcohol poisoning and having your stomach pumped, I guess)
  • people who take advantage of others (especially in cases of elder abuse, domestic violence, and pedophilia)
  • football
  • drivers who pass you on the highway, then take the next exit
  • corkscrews
  • squeezing toothpaste from the end, not the middle
  • people without a sense of humour
  • why we have wisdom teeth and an appendix (to make doctors more money?)
  • when one door needs to be pushed open and the following door needs to be pulled (yes, the old Canadian Tire store in Bridgewater, my nemesis)
  • loud mufflers that sound like you’ve a hole the size of a goat in your exhaust system
  • tanning
  • why all the cards in my wallet have to be blue
  • people who don’t need coffee
  • cable (no really, it’s not available here)

I’ve admitted, then, some of the things that befuddle me.  I suppose this explains why my IQ is only 107.  I might as well cancel my application to Mensa!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Laura Best says:

    That old Canadian Tire store got me most every time. It’s like my brain couldn’t seem to comprehend it even when I mentally prepared for it..How hateful.

    1. Miss Julie says:

      I’m from the crowd that can’t pat their heat and rub their tummy at the same time. I try to tell myself I specialized in English, so it’s okay to lack certain skills! lol

Leave a Reply

